You make a difference alone. Together we can change everything!


Upcoming Events

January 22: VTLFF partner Kathleen Kesson will be the inaugural speaker for a new lecture series sponsored by the VT Department of Libraries.  Her talk is titled "Channeling John Dewey: What Would Vermont's Philosopher Have to Say About Personalized Learning?" 12:00-1:00 PM at the Pavilion Building Auditorium in Montpelier.

January 29: Connect, Learn, Act: Transforming Education for Equity, Sustainability and Joy - VTLFF Winter Network Summit, Capital Plaza, Montpelier. (More information below)

February 4-5: Understanding the Dynamics of Student Voice and Aspirations, with Dr. Russell Quaglia (February 4), and Youth-Adult Partnership Professional Development Series (Part 1) with Up for Learning. Hampton Event Center Colchester, VT

March 19 or/and March 21: Youth-Adult Partnership Professional Development Series (Part 2) with Up for Learning - March 19 for High School, March 21 for Middle School. Hampton Event Center Colchester, VT

April 2-4: Innovation in Education Conference. Take a deep dive into a new kind of conference designed to be a collaborative endeavor for teachers, technology integration specialists, and administrators. A partnership between EdTechTeacher and Windsor Central SU at the Woodstock Inn, Woodstock, VT.

May 1: Power 2 Conference - Up for Learning will host their 5th annual youth-led summit showcasing the transformative power of Youth-Adult Partnership in Vermont education. Lake Morey Resort, Fairlee, VT

YOUTH-SPECIFIC OPPORTUNITIES:

VTeen 4-H Science Pathways Cafe: How Energy Storage Works & Why It Matters - February 2, 2019. For grades 7-12. FREE. Registration required by January 30.

Governor’s Institute Winter Weekends: two-day intensive learning experiences for Vermont 9th-12th graders. Consider VTLFF-aligned opportunities in Youth Leadership, Global Education and Youth Voice or just follow your passion and joy! February 8-10 & 22-24

Vermont Youth Council - Vermont Afterschool is convening a statewide youth council that will ultimately distribute over $15,000 in grant money to fund projects developed by youth for youth.

Youth Lobby - A youth-led, statewide coalition of students working to address issues of climate change, youth voting rights and representation through “action civics.”


Learn, Connect, Act: Transforming Education for Equity, Sustainability and Joy

Join an emergent network of educators and their allies working to accelerate the pace of positive change in Vermont’s education system. The Network Summit is part PLC, part innovation studio, part project launchpad. Participants include students, teachers, curriculum coordinators, specialists, administrators, community partners, non-profit and government, pre-k through higher education.

Tuesday, January 29, 8:30-3:30. Capital Plaza Hotel and Conference Center, Montpelier, VT. Agenda highlights coming soon.

VTLFF Network Summits are free and open to all. We encourage those who are able to consider making a contribution at Registration to cover Summit expenses and support our efforts to diversify our network. If we can do more to support your participation, please email Ben Freeman at bfreeman@vtlff.org.

Learn More about what our Summits are like! (report from the VTLFF Summer Summit).

tree image.jpeg

Future of Learning Design Studios

VTLFF is offering a series of design workshops focused on place-based learning that integrates personalized learning plans, flexible pathways and proficiency based graduation requirements.

Design Studio II: Civics and Engagement - Vermont Historical Society, Montpelier, February, 2019

Design Studio III&IV: Science, Society and Sustainability - Shelburne Farms; Ethnography, Equity, and Restorative Practice - Vermont Folklife Center

LEARN MORE - Design Studios Slideshow


join an action team

Design Ecosystem: Jen Cirillo (jcirillo@shelburnefarms.org) and Lindsey Halman (lhalman@ewsd.org)

Youth Adult Partnership: Helen Beattie (helen@upforlearning.org) and Karen Scott (karen@upforlearning.org)

Youth with Access to Learning Potential: Ryan Morra (rmorra@wwsu.org)

Digital Learning: Susan Hennessey (susan.hennessey@uvm.edu) and James Nagle (jnagle2@smcvt.edu)

Framing and Messaging: Jillian Joyce (jjoyce@burrburton.org) and Christie Nold (cnold@sbschools.net)


Spread the Word

Increase our impact - share the work of VTLFF with your school, community and professional network!

VTLFF Action Plan - Click through to access page 2

VTLFF Action Plan - Click through to access page 2